Lady Indians collect All-State honors

-A A +A
By Sean Arnold

The Chiefland softball team reached its fourth straight state finals game in May on the strength of a bevy of talented and accomplished Lady Indians.

Miracle Sports released its annual All-State honorees this month, and many of those CMHS standouts populate the list.

For the second time, shortstop Takiya London was selected as the Class 1A Defensive Player of the Year.

For a program so often led by its defense during its recent run of final four appearances, it’s fitting that it’s the third consecutive year a Lady Indian was named for the defensive honor, as catcher Emily Hallman, who was this year selected to the Class 1A First Team, collected DPOY in 2016, after London claimed it in 2015.

London was the Miracle Sports overall Player of the Year in 2016.

Joining London and Hallman on this year’s Miracle Sports Class 1A First Team are Lady Indians center fielder Lauren Parker and, making her first all-state appearance, sophomore pitcher Kensley Durrance.

Parker notched back-to-back First Team appearances after an appearance on the Second Team in 2015, and it was the third time Hallman and London made the First Team.

CMHS second baseman Sydney Parks was honored again by Miracle Sports with her third Second Team distinction. Lady Indians left fielder Samantha Rolfe was also tabbed for Second-Team honors.

Sophomore first baseman Macie Thomas was also recognized for Chiefland in earning an honorable mention in her first varsity year as a starter.

Levy County was also represented by the selection of Williston freshman utility player Madison Reynolds to the First Team, and fellow freshman Lady Red Devil Madison Geiger to the Second Team. Meanwhile, Bronson saw a quartet of Lady Eagles receive honorable mentions: freshmen Macy Huguley and Neomi Thomas, junior Emily Sheppard and senior catcher Cambria Renaldo.

Union County (Lake Butler), which defeated Chiefland in the state championship game, picked up Coach of the Year honors for Andrew Strickland, Class 1A Player of the Year Devin Lewis and Offensive Player of the Year for Teala Howard. The Fightin’ Tigers had eight more girls make the First and Second Teams.

Wewahitchka pitcher Brianna Bailey, who Chiefland faced in the state semifinals, prevailing on some last-minute heroics in the bottom of the seventh, was selected as 1A Pitcher of the Year.

Former Chiefland ace Lauren Stalvey collected that honor the previous two seasons. Recently-retired CMHS coach Wayne Weatherford nabbed 1A Coach of the Year honors in 2015 and 2016.

Trenton boasts three Miracle Sports First Teamers, including eighth-grade pitcher Darren Ingram, senior infielder Kyndall Williams and junior outfielder Josie NesSmith. Lady Tigers Bryn Thomas and Jaycee Thomas collected Second Team honors, while Lilian Wilkerson was an honorable mention for TMHS.



Coach of the Year: Andrew Strickland, Lake Butler Union County

Offensive Player of the Year: Teala Howard, Lake Butler Union County

Defensive Player of the Year: Takiya London, Chiefland

Pitcher of the Year: Brianna Bailey, Wewahitchka

1A Player of the Year: Devin Lewis, Lake Butler Union County

First Team

P – Brianna Bailey, Jr., Wewahitchka

P – Lexi Androlevich, Jr., Lake Butler Union County

P – Kensley Durrance, So., Chiefland

P – Megan Collins, Sr., Eastpoint Franklin County

P – Grace Gilbert, Sr., Chipley

P – Darren Ingram, 8th grade, Trenton

C – Devin Lewis, Sr., Lake Butler Union County

C – Emily Hallman, Sr., Chiefland

INF – Takiya London, Sr., Chiefland

INF – Teala Howard, Jr., Lake Butler Union County

INF – Kyndall Williams, Sr., Trenton

INF – Cyrina Madrid, Fr., Wewahitchka

INF – Shelby Sloan, So., Baker

OF – Josie NesSmith, Jr., Trenton

OF – Kensley Hamilton, So., Lake Butler Union County

OF – Naomi Parker, Jr., Wewahitchka

OF – Kristen Sterling, Jr., Baldwin

OF – Lauren Parker, Sr., Chiefland

UTIL – Haley Ellefson, Jr., Mayo Lafayette

UTIL – Madison Reynolds, Fr., Williston

UTIL – Brooke Waters, Jr., Lake Butler Union County

DP – Kamaya Cohen, Fr., Lake Butler Union County

DP – Melanie Collins, So., Eastpoint Franklin County

Second Team

P – Tori Harrington, So., Bratt Northview

P – Camryn Brazile, So., Paxton

P – Marissa Baxter, So., Sneads

P – Alyssa Selvey, Jr., Santa Rosa Beach South Walton

P – Sydney Revels, Jr., Bonifay Holmes County

P – Kaylee Cowart, So., Pierson Taylor

C – Gracie Price, Fr., Wewahitchka

C – Scout Segree, Sr., Eastpoint Franklin County

INF – Madelyn Kish, Jr., Lake Butler Union County

INF – Sydney Parks, Sr., Chiefland

INF – Cecily Hale, Sr., Wewahitchka

INF – Bryn Thomas, So., Trenton

INF – Sophia Kirvin, So., Eastpoint Franklin County

OF – Tiffany Clark, Fr., Lake Butler Union County

OF – Peighton Dortch, Sr., Bratt Northview

OF – Jaycee Thomas, Sr., Trenton

OF – Breanna Swanson, Jr., Baldwin

OF – Samantha Rolfe, Sr., Chiefland

UTIL – Kylee Crews, Sr., Fort White

UTIL – Katelynn Shiver, Sr., Bristol Liberty County

UTL – Taylor Lee, So., Bonifay Holmes County

DP – Hallie Bryant, Fr., Trenton

DP – Miranda Geiger, Fr., Williston

HONORABLE MENTION: Jennifer Allen, Fr., Fort White; Jessica Burns, Jr., Fort White; Shelby Dubose, Jr., Fort White; Kendall Enfinger, So., Bratt Northview; Macey Fulgham, Sr., Lake Butler Union County; Macy Huguley, Fr., Bronson; Genesis Long, Jr., Baker; Aubree Love, So., Bratt Northview; Jamia Newton, Sr., Bratt Northview; Cambria Renaldo, Sr., Bronson; Emily Sheppard, Jr., Bronson; Michaela Siler, Sr., Fort Meade; Keely Staats, Sr., Fort Meade; Emily Stewart, Sr., Baker; Macie Thomas, So., Chiefland; Neomi Thomas, Fr., Bronson; Lilian Wilkerson, 8th grade, Trenton.