Chiefland high-schoolers garner academic honors

-A A +A
By Sean Arnold

Photos: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1734360986617131.1073741929.18...

Many of the top high school students from Chiefland Middle High School were recognized May 23 in the CMHS Auditorium at the High School Awards Ceremony.

The school district has introduced the Latin honors system for the Class of 2018, making the recent group of Chiefland seniors the first to be recognized with Cum Laude honors at the school. The honors replace the class top 10 in distinguishing the top academic finishers.

At the awards ceremony, nine CMHS seniors were recognized as achieving Summa Cum Laude honors, a designation that requires at least a weighted GPA of 4.0. Those students included: Savannah Hudson (valedictorian); Anya Tapia (salutatorian); Enya Tapia; Sara Langston; Nathalie Solatorio; Cheyanne Walker; Tori Hutson; Morgan Fisher and Jommielle Quiambao.

The students recognized as Magna Cum Laude, which includes those carrying a minimum GPA of 3.85, were Seth Thomas; Krisa Sharpe; Sydney Allen and Sarah Lourcey.

The Class of 2018 Cum Laude students, with a minimum GPA of 3.5, were: Tenlee Beauchamp; Alain Olivera; Demontaye Holloway; Kendall Watson; Rhett Hoke; Garrison Vandegrift; Emily Horlocker; Chelsea Parker; Haitrieu Nguyen; B.C. Fehmerling; Lacee Ward; Josh Webber; Cheyenne Gay; Nathan McFann and Dalton Tiner.

The A Honor Roll students included freshman Bryana Martinez, senior Savannah Hudson and sophomores: Karsyn Hardee; Dylan Castell; Luke Stockman; Reagan Hudson; Alana Hord; Joseph Isenhoward; Kierra Langford and Luke Reidy.

The conclusion of the ceremony featured the announcement of a special group of faculty-selected awards for seniors. The School Spirit award went to C.J. Gilbert and Dustin Bennett. The Turnaround Student duo was Mayla Ward and Bennett. Cheyanne Walker and Jared Twombly claimed the Leadership Award, while Chelsea Parker and Tramaine Brown were tabbed for Best All-Around honors. Finally, Naja Martin and Dalton Tiner were named the Athletes of the Year.

The academic awards included subject area awards winners for social studies, mathematics, English language arts and science. Health and business program award winners were also revealed. Subject winners included: US History – Luke Stockman; World History – Dylan Castell; Economics – Tori Hutson; Government – Nathalie Solartorio; AP Art History – Reagan Hudson; AP Government – Sarah Lourcey; AP Geography – Trey Holland; Math for College Readiness – Kayla Coffey; Liberal Arts Math – Jarrett Feagle; Algebra 2 – Amber Moran; Algebra 2 Honors – Reagan Hudson; Precalculus 2 Honors – Hunter Barrand; Marine Science – Julie Powers; AP Environmental Science – Cheyenne Gay; Biology – Talicia Sally and Jaycie Anderson; Biology Honors – Alana Hord; Environmental Science – Aurora Gonzales; Chemistry 1 – Reagan Hudson; Environmental Science – Angela Porras; English 1 – Albany Smithers and Laci Acevedo; English 2 Honors – Ryan Tedin and Bryana Martinez; English 2 – Jimmy Boyle; English III – Jennee Jamie; English IV – Rhett Hoke; AP Literature – Dylan Castell; Spanish 1 – Luke Stockman; Spanish 2 – Dylan Castell; AP Spanish – Demontaye Holloway; Medical Skills – Albany Smithers; Anatomy and Physiology – Reagan Hudson; Foundations (health) – Caroline Kohn; Allied Clinical Assisting – Anya Tapia; Nursing Assistant – Anya Tapia; Digital Information Technology (DIT) – Kaitlyn Rickner; Digital Design 1 – Nathaniel Denley; Digital Design 2 – Derek Coffey; Digital Design 3 – Nathalie Solatorio; Accounting – Bryanna Martinez.

Also receiving recognition were yearbook editor D’Andria Watson and co-editors Jamie Schaffer and Cheyanne Walker, and, for the Leadership program, Dustin Bennett (leadership skills); Tramaine Brown (leadership techniques) and Haitrieu Nguyen (leadership strategies).

Students of the Month receiving recognition included: Nathalie Solatario (August); Draymone Battles (September); De’Shamar Shepherd (October); Tori Hutson (November); Cheyenne Gay (December); Laci Acevedo (January); Macie Thomas (February); Derek Coffey (March); Jaycie Anderson (April) and Caroline Kohn (May).

A/B Honor Roll freshmen included: Aliyah Spain; Triston Knight; Lathen Hinote; Jackson White and Rhonda Mattadeen. A/B Honor Roll sophomores included: Amber Moran; Jarrett Jerrells; Jonathan Cannon; Rieley Beauchamp; Emma Ronchetti; Jaycie Anderson; Kaiden Baker; Kiel Watkins; Ty Corbin; Jessey Anne Manalastas; Phillip Telgen and Riley Dyer. A/B Honor Roll juniors were: Ashtyn Brown; Keegan McLelland; Jennee Jaime; Noah Nguyen; Caroline Kohn; Kensley Durrance; Nelson Crawford; Julie Powers; Wyatt Hammond; Kent Sloan and Trey Holland. Seniors making the A/B Honor Roll included: Rhett Hoke; Cheyanne Walker; Garrison Vandergrift; Seth Thomas; Nathalie Solatario; Dalton Tiner; Haitrieu Nguyen; Taylor Simpson; Josh Raymer; Emily Horlocker; Sara Langston; Chelsea Parker and Sarah Lourcey.

Senior who completed Advanced Placement courses (AP) were identified, including: Savannah Hudson; Alain Olivera; Archie Brice; Cheyanne Walker; Demontaye Holloway; Enya Tapia; Ethan Ramirez; Jamie Schaffer; Jennifer Silva; Josh Raymer; Kendall Watson; Lacee Ward; Layton Lanier; Maria Gomez; Morgan Fisher; Anya Tapia; Chelsea Parker; Cheyenne Gay; Derek Coffey; Erika Gilliam; Heavyn Nash; Jared Twombly; Jommielle Quiambao; Katy Stephenson; Krista Sharpe; Lance Horne; Mackayla Ward; Molly Smith; Nathalie Solatorio; Nathan McFann; Rhett Hoke; Sara Langston; Sarah Lourcey; Sydney Allen (President); Sydney Kruser; Tenlee Beauchamp; Tori Hutson and Trenton Stanford.

Beta Club honorees were: Sydney Allen (president); Emily Horlocker; Tori Hutson; Sarah Lourcey; Nathan McFann; Alain Olivera; Chelsea Parker; Alexis Seyez; Seth Thomas; Dalton Tiner; Jared Twombly; Garrison Vandergrift; Kendall Watson; Josh Webber; Haitrieu Nguyen and Jommielle Quiambao.

In addition to student honors, a trio of outgoing administrators – Principal Dennis Webber, Assistant Principal Christie McElroy and guidance counselor Devon Weaver – were recognized for “having been dedicated, involved and a true part of [the CMHS] Tribe this year.”