Petty Officer 2nd Class Michael De Nyse
Captain Holly L. Najarian, Coast Guard Sector St. Petersburg, Florida, commander, oversees Chief Warrant Officer Robert B. Whitmore transfer command of Coast Guard Station Yankeetown, to Chief Petty Officer Eric B. Tookey during a change of command ceremony at the station Wednesday, Aug. 3, 2016. The ceremony is a time-honored military tradition that signifies a total transfer of responsibility, authority and accountability for the command. U.S. Coast Guard photo by Petty Officer 2nd Class Ashley J. Johnson
Yankeetown CG station gets new leadership

Members of Coast Guard Station Yankeetown held a change-of-command ceremony Wednesday, Aug. 3, at the station.

Chief Warrant Officer Robert Whitmore transferred command of the station to Chief Petty Officer Eric B. Tookey during the ceremony.

During Whitmore's tour at Station Yankeetown, he and the 26 crewmembers stationed there were responsible for 3,500 miles of Florida coastline spanning six counties.

During the ceremony, Whitmore spoke about his year at the station and commended his crew for their work.