Voters will have choices

-A A +A
By Jim Clark

By Jim Clark

Contributing Writer

Qualifying for this year's elections has ended, and four Levy County candidates find themselves elected without opposition.

Tax Collector Linda Fugate, Supervisor of Elections Connie Asbell, and School Board members Beth Davis and Paige Brookins each failed to draw an opponent.

In any race where there is more than one candidate of either party, the candidates will appear on the ballot on Aug. 26.

That includes most of the other races. The exception is the battle for superintendent of schools between Democrat Jeff Edison and Republican Robert Hastings. This race will go through to the Nov. 4 election without being on the primary ballot.

In the races for clerk of court and sheriff, there are two members of the same party who are the only qualifiers. That means that in these two races it will be an open primary, with voters of all parties allowed to cast ballots.

For all other races, only Democrats may vote in the primary, since the primary winner will face Republican opposition in the fall.

That includes the races for property appraiser and all three county commission races.

Here is the list of candidates who have qualified, as posted on the

Levy County elections Web site:

*-indicates incumbent

Clerk of Court

Bruce Greenlee (Dem.)

Danny Shipp* (Dem.)


Bobby McCallum (Dem.)

Johnny Smith* (Dem.)

Property Appraiser

Francis Akins* (Dem.)

Osborn Barker (Rep.)

Anthony Phillips (Dem.)

Tax Collector

Linda Fugate* (Dem.)

Superintendent of Schools

Jeff Edison (Dem.)

Robert Hastings (Rep.)

Supervisor of Elections

Connie Asbell* (Dem.)

County Commission District 1

Dave Bibby (Dem.)

Abraham Blitch (Rep.)

John Meeks (Dem.)

Tony Parker* (Dem.)

County Commission District 3

Raye Koolman (Rep.)

Al Macri (Dem.)

Sammy Yearty* (Dem.)

County Commission District 5

Cal Byrd (Dem.)

Jerry Robinson (Rep.)

Danny Stevens* (Dem.)