SVG Golden Gravel Award winners

-A A +A

    The Suwannee Valley Players, in an effort to involve our community and reward our dedicated actors, actresses, and production staff, announced its first-ever Golden Gravel Awards last September. Our theater public was invited to cast their votes for the nominees for this distinguished award. This award is our version of the Academy Awards, and on July 23 the Players met for a semi-formal dinner at BubbaQue’s restaurant in Chiefland to announce the winners of the first Golden Gravel Awards. The excitement was high as the nominees, presenters, families, contributors and friends gathered to honor this year’s nominees and winners. Guests were entertained throughout the evening by the musical talents of Elizabeth Phillips, Rachel Perryman, Krista Perryman and Stacey Trenteseaux. 

The nominees and winners are as follows:


Comedy Series

Best Actress

• Heather McIntire—Night We Knocked the Critic Dead

• Krista Perryman—The Drowsy Chaperone

Winner: Heather McIntire 


Best Actor  

• Andy Kidd—Night We Knocked the Critic Dead

• John Yencho—The Drowsy Chaperone

Winner: Andy Kidd


Best Supporting Actress   

• Bobbie Kidd—Night We Knocked the Critic Dead

• Virginia Caudill-The Drowsy Chaperone

Winner: Bobbie Kidd


Best Supporting Actor  

• Keith Brayman-Night We Knocked the Critic Dead

• Josh Reed—The Drowsy Chaperone

Winner: Keith Brayman


Drama Series

Best Actress  

• McKenna Hamilton—Yes, Virginia There is a Santa Claus

• Jennifer Verheren—Crimes of the Heart

Winner: McKenna Hamilton


Best Actor     

• Andrew Kelly—Yes, Virginia There is a Santa Claus

Winner: Andrew Kelly


Best Supporting Actress   

• Sarah Manders—Yes, Virginia There is a Santa Claus

• Emily Baker—Crimes of the Heart

Winner: Emily Baker


Best Supporting Actor 

• Duwane Schwingel—Yes, Virginia There is a Santa Claus

• Greg Mercier—Crimes of the Heart

Winner: Greg Mercier


Best Production 

• The Night We Knocked the Critic Dead 

• The Drowsy Chaperone 

Yes, Virginia There is a Santa Claus 

• Crimes of the Heart

Winner: The Night We Knocked the Critic Dead,

Directed by Michael Taylor


   The Suwannee Valley Players would like to thank everyone who attended the event and made it such a successful and memorable evening.

   The Players would like to especially thank our generous contributors who have been so faithful in their support and for their part in the selection of the winners of this year’s Golden Gravel Award. 

   The new theatre season kicks off Sept. 16 with the comedy thriller “Murder of Scarecrows”, followed in October with The “Real” Haunted Theater.” Everyone is invited and encouraged to attend our new season and cast your ballot for next year’s Golden Gravel nominees.