Rye Grass player field grows

-A A +A

Alden Davis wins championship

By The Staff

Alden Davis won 1st place in the men’s championship flight and Betty Costella won the women’s division in  the 36th Annual Rye Grass Golf Tournament held Oct. 10-12 at Chiefland Golf and Country Club.


Unfortunately for the 150 golfers, 130 men and 20 women, no one made a hole-in-one to win the new car prize sponsored by Scoggins Chevrolet-Buick and Drummond Community Bank. But there were lots of prizes for those who played. 

That number of golfers is an increase from last year’s 100 players.

Davis won with a two-day score of 135, finishing ahead of Jamie Whitehurst with 137 and three golfers who tied for third at 140: Kelly Gosse, Michael Bobbitt and Craig Tomlinson.

Finishing behind Costella, who had a two-day net score of 142, were Patsy Sheppard and two women who tied for third at 147: Sandy Reed and Terri Harris. Harris was also the low gross winner. 

The winners of the various contests were:

• Straightest drive on hole No. 6, Pat Renaud and Dave Taylor;

• Longest drive on hole No. 7, Linda Buchanan and Jamie Whitehurst;

• Closest to the pin on No. 13, Barbara Currance and T. (Cookie) Kock; and 

•? Longest putt on No. 18, Adrienne Snyder and Mike Woodall.

Before the Rye Grass tournament was held, the club also had the Dan Whitehurst Scramble on Oct. 10. The winning teaqms were:

•? First: Bruce Cameron, Rob Zumwalt, Tony Seufert;

•? Second: Mike Viscione, Virgil Harris, Terry Hopkins; and 

•? Third: Bill Grisham, Bob Sevier and Jones Mauldin.

The finishers in the Rye Grass flights were:

1st A Å\ Kirk Barker (152), Haus Whitehurst (155) and a tie for 3rd place, Buddy Arendall (156) and Jeff Leivonen (156);

1st B Å\ David Crawford and Kenny Anderson with 159 for 1st place, and Sparky Whitener (160); 

2nd A Å\ Terry Hopkins (192), Mike Watson (175), Joe Knauff (176);

2nd B Å\ John Reulerson and Stewart Smith in 1st place with 176 and Terry Gorman and Monte Whitehurst in 3rd with 180.

3rd A Å\ Joe Tobias (185), and at 2nd, Jack Martin and Jeff Venable with 186;

Gold A Å\ Tony Weeks (130), Rick Sargent (131), Ed McManigle (134); and

Gold B Å\ Paul Chase (143), Ron Richardson (147), and Jim Zumwalt (148).