No city elections this year

-A A +A

Commissioners remain unchallenged

By The Staff

Chiefland Mayor Teal Pomeoy and Vice Mayor Teresa Barron won't be running for office this year.


That's because neither had any challengers by the end of qualifying period Thursday for the election that would have taken place Aug. 5., had some politically aspiring resident stepped up.

Pomeroy, representing Group 2, and Barron, Group 4, will keep the positions they've held for the last several years.

The next election for city commissioners won't be until 2015 when seats for groups 1, 3 and 5 — held by commissioners Chris Jones, Rollin Hudson and Betty Walker, repsectively — come up for vote.