Bell re-elected commission chair

-A A +A
By Lou Elliott Jones, Editor

Commissioner Ryan Bell of Chiefland has been re-elected chairman of the Levy County Commission for a second year in a row.

The choice came in the commission's regular meeting on Tuesday morning. The term is for one year. 

Commissioner Chad Johnson or Chiefland was elected vice chairman for the third year in a row. 

The election of the two commissioners from Chiefland to leadership positions comes as they face re-election in 2014. Bell is expected to draw a challenge from former Commissioner Lily Rooks in the District 4 race. Bell defeated Rooks in the 2010 elections.

Johnson is also expected to draw challengers in the District 2 race. But no one has formally announced their candidacy. 

The commissioners also agreed to keep the lisisons to departments and on outside appointments, with one exception. Commissioner Danny Stevens will sit on the county election cenvassing board and he will be joined by Commissioner John Meeks. While the commission chair with the vice chair as alternate usually sits on the canvassing board, neither Bell or Johnson can serve in 2014 as they are up for election.