Banquet honors CHS baseball

-A A +A
By Claude Lewis

The Chiefland High baseball program celebrated a fine 2008 season with a banquet June 3 at Bell?s Restaurant.

Both the junior varsity and varsity posted excellent records.

The varsity finished 18-5 and was ranked in the top 10 in 3A during the course of the season.

Senior pitcher Ory Pitts won the varsity's Most Valuable Player Award voted on by the players.

Pitts, who fiished 8-2, also garnered Pitcher of the Year honors along with a Four-Year Letterman award.

Other special award winners included Matt Williams (Coaches Award), Brent Slaughter (Offensive Player of the Year), Kory Hanchar and Mike Perkins (Co-Defensive Player of the Year), Dan Galpin (Most Improved) and Jeremy Hayes (Fireman).

Williams was the steady senior left fielder. Slaughter was the freshman third baseman who batted .386. Hanchar was a slick-fielding senior shortstop. Perkins was the strong-armed junior catcher. Senior Galpin was an effective pitcher and outfielder. Junior Hayes posted a fine 5-0 record.

There were more varsity awards. Sophomore centerfielder Clent Wasson was in the .400 club. Slaughter, Hanchar, Perkins and Dane Cothron belonged to the .300 club.

Joining Pitts as a Four-Year Letterman was Joey Harris, who missed the season recovering from injury.

Three-Year Lettermen inclided Hanchar, Williams and Galpin.

The Two-Year Lettermen were Clent Wasson and Kyle Pendarvis.

The First-Year Lettermen list had Slaughter, Cothron, Hayes, Perkins, Kyle Shivers, Adam Burton, Josh Wasson and Reggie McClendon.

The junior varsity finished with an impressive 11-2-1 record.

Players included Jakarr White, Garrett Schmidt, Jamie Deas, John Williams, Marquis Green, Josh Martinez, Parrish Parnell, Jacob Reidy, Bo Beauchamp and Shannon Wilson.